The Opera in Vienna

In other words, being classy in this classic European city.

For those of you who have never been to Vienna, or perhaps have never even heard of it, I would highly recommend visiting. Known as the “City of Music,” Vienna is fairly small for a capital city. It’s extremely walkable and all of the main tourist sites are close to one another. It’s classic and elegant, and being there takes you back to the days of the Habsburg Monarchy.

Don’t miss: Schönbrunn Palace, for a massive palace, beautiful gardens, fountains, and the stereotypical image of Vienna:

schonbrunn2

There is one random person always present in the background of my photos… *sigh*

schonbrunn

Sorry my hair is a mess!

While in Austria, I didn’t get to go to the Lake District or frolic in the Alps like the Sound of Music fanatic in me had hoped to do, but we did manage to watch the musical at the opera in Vienna!

volksoper

Volksoper Wien

volksoper2

The Sound of Music cast coming out to take their bows

Better yet: it cost only two euros.

How often do you get to see a musical in another country, let alone for this amazing price?!

My own tip would be: Go directly INTO the office to purchase a ticket. There are a lot of costumed people outside (dressed as Mozart and the like) who will try to sell you a ticket, but I don’t know if I would trust their tickets to be legitimate and fairly priced. Communicating in the office was a little difficult as the woman helping us didn’t speak a lot of English, but we were able to express that we wanted a standing room ticket for that evening’s performance. There were still tickets for seats, but they were more expensive (maybe 15-20 euros). One mutual look shared between Carissa and me, communicating, “Hmm. We’re broke travelers,” meant we went for the standing tickets.

The whole musical was sung in German with English captions projected on a small screen above. I’m not a huge fan of musicals; I can appreciate them but I don’t go out of my way often to see them. The Sound of Music is one of my favorite movies, and after wandering through Salzburg only a few days before, how could we NOT see it in its musical form? My feet ached from walking all day and then standing for more hours, but I loved hearing the way the songs translated and I enjoyed the show thoroughly.

If you’re curious, you can listen to clips of the soundtrack in German here.

For more info on attending the opera or other concerts in Vienna for a cheap price, here’s a good link with reviews.

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

